Quiz Liverpool

Home of the Liverpool Quiz League

Presentation Night - 2019/20 and 2021/22

Trophies were awarded for both the 2019/20 and 2021/22 season at Presentation night on Monday 20th June.  Chairman Danny Grimes thanked everyone for attending and hoped that next season would see a return to normality with all competitions being held face to face if at all possible.  The pictures below show the teams who received trophies for the various competitions.

Tramway - Division 2 2019
Tramway - Div 2 Winners 2019/20
Kluggers - Div 1 Runners-up 2019
Kluggers - Div 1 Runners-up 2019/20
Cricketers Div 1 Winners 2019
Cricketers  Div 1 Winners 2019/20
Tramway - Handicap Winners 2019
Tramway Handicap Winners 2019/20
JC and the Jets - Div 3 Runners up 2022
JC and the Jets - Division 3 Runners-up 2021/22
St Francis of Assissi - Division3 Winners 2021/22
St Francis of Assisi - Div 3 Winners 2021/22
Monstrous Regiment Div 2 Runners-up 2021/22
Monstrous Regiment - Div 2 Runners-up 2021/22
Groindhogs - Div 2 Winners 2021/22
Groundhogs - Division 2 Champions 2021/22
Kluggers - Div 1 Runners-up 2021/22
Kluggers - Div 1 Runners-up 2021/22
Cricketers - Div 1 Champions 2021/22 St Francis - Riley Cup Finalists 2021/22
St Francis - Riley Cup Finalists 2021/22
Monstrous Regiment - Riley Cup Winners 2021/22
Monstrous Regiment - Riley Cup Winners 2021/22


LQL Mimir Final 2020

James MacGregor (Palmy Army) beat a strong field of Rob Cruise (Bookworms), Mark Kerr (Cricketers) and Frank McHugh (Tramway) to become the 2022 Liverpool Quiz League MIMIR champion, his first time of winning the trophy.  He can be seen here receiving the Arthur Evans Shield from Danny Grimes, Liverpool Quiz League chairman.  You can also watch the match below.

MIMIR Champion 2022 - James MacGregor


Finals Night

Congratulations to The Monstrous Regiment, winners of the 2022 Ted Riley Quiz Cup.

Here are the results of tonight’s games.

Game at Aigburth People's Hall H cap Score   Score H cap    
Semi finals           Date 30 May 2022  
31 Oxton Conservatives 2 51 v 56 12 St Francis of Assisi 93
32 Standard Bearers 25 53 v 70 13 Monstrous Regiment 85
Final at APH         Date 30 May 2022  
33 Monstrous Regiment 13 59 v 52 12 St Francis of Assisi 86

Full details of the entire competition will be posted in Competitions on LQL website.

Many thanks to all the teams, question persons, scorers and timekeepers who took part in the competition.

May I thank all those who assisted in checking and amending the questions, Frances Mason, Geoff Poole, Brian Thompson and Clive Leech, for their hard work and attention to detail.

And thank you to those who officiated tonight at the Finals, Jim Martin, Angela Doyle, Gill Willett, Fay Howard, Danny Grimes, Dave Critchley, Keith Clare and John McLoughlin.

annual general meeting

The Liverpool Quiz League AGM will be held online on Sunday 12 June starting at 7.30pm.  Agenda and Link will be circulated to all teams soon.



Home Team hcap score   score hcap Away Team
Quarter finals           Date 23 May 2022
27 Standard Bearers 25 47 v 31 7 Aigburth People
28 Monstrous Regiment 13 46 v 44 11 Wallaseyans
29 Oxton Cons 2 45 v 35 5 Bishop Eton
30 St Francis of Assisi 12 43 v 39 17 Duncan's Doughnuts


Semi Finals will be played on Monday 30th May 2022, at Aigburth People’s Hall, L17 0DG.

Doors open at 7.30 and the draw will take place at 7.50pm so that we can get a prompt 8pm start.

All results can be found here.

Liverpool Mimir Heats

I would like to thank everyone who participated in the first round and semi-finals of the LQL Mimir competition at Aigburth People's Hall on Wednesday.

As usual, the event was held in the true spirit of the Quiz League, competitive but friendly, and our sincere thanks go to Paul Davitt and his team for once again organising such a successful and enjoyable event.

We now wish good luck to all of the LQL players who go forward to the Merseyside Quiz League Mimir competition starting next Wednesday.

Best wishes, Danny.

Frank McFarlane - Funeral Details

Frank's funeral will be at 1pm on Thursday 24 March at St Peter's Church, Church Rd, Woolton, Liverpool L25 5JF.

The burial is at 2.30pm in the Woodlands Section of Allerton Cemetery, Liverpool L19 5NF.

Frank's widow Julia and her family would like to invite all attending to a gathering afterwards at the Crown Inn, Leyfield Rd, Liverpool L12 7HX.

Website Problems - An Apology

I would like to apologise for the website being down for such a long time.  The hosting provider was upgrading their systems and it did not go as planned!  I have since migrated it to a new provider and hopefully things will get back to normal.

Thanks for your patience

Chris Quinn
Website Administrator

Top Shelf - Change of Venue

Please note that Top Shelf are now playing at a new venue.

The Cock and Bottle 
93 High Street 
L15 8HF

Frank McFarlane

It is with great sadness that we must inform you that MQL Chairman, Frank McFarlane, passed away on Saturday 12 February at the Royal Hospital in Liverpool.  As you may have known, he was taken seriously ill just before Christmas and in spite of fighting hard, was unable to overcome the complications that arose from the emergency surgery.

Frank played for the Centre Club, Old Swan Conservatives and Leyfield Crown and never let his blindness prevent him from taking a full active part in team quizzing.  He was a Divisional Secretary in the LQL for over 20 years and organised the President's Shield competition for many of those.  At nearly 16 years Frank was the longest serving Chairman of the MQL and we will miss his calm and wise leadership.

We offer our sincere condolences to his wife Julia and the rest of the family and also to Karen and the team at Leyfield Crown.


Page 4 of 20 << < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 > >>